Southwest Advertising Hall Of Fame Class Of 2017 Announced

image002AAF Fort Worth to Host Induction Ceremony April 7, 2017

AAF-Austin is extremely proud to be represented at The Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame 2017.  From the eleven inductees five are from Austin which includes the founders of GSD&M: Roy Spence, Judy Trabulsi, Tim McClure and Steve Gurasich as well as Dr. John Murphy, Professor Emeritus at the University of Texas.

The Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Tenth District of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), encompassing Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas.  AAF-Fort Worth will host an inductee ceremony recognizing the eleventh class of this Hall of Fame. The ceremonial dinner will be held on Friday, April 7, 2017 at the Historic Hilton in conjunction with the annual convention presented by the AAF Tenth District.

The 2017 inductees include:

The Founders of GSD&M, Austin.  GSD&M was founded in 1971 by four University of Texas graduates: Roy Spence, Judy Trabulsi, Tim McClure and Steve Gurasich. Their vision was, and remains, “to create ideas that make a difference!” Forty-four years later, GSD&M is responsible for accelerating some of the biggest brands on earth and is guided by the principle of purpose-based branding.  Their ideas are still making a difference.

Over the years, the agency has been recognized by some of the largest award shows: Cannes Lions, The Effies, The Clios, Communication Arts and the American Advertising Awards (ADDY’s), to name just a few.

Dr. John Murphy, Austin.  Dr. John Murphy is Professor Emeritus at the University of Texas.  He has committed his life to the advertising profession and is personally responsible for the introduction of thousands of well-trained young advertising professionals to this industry.  His passion for both teaching and the advertising industry is personified in all his achievements, which include 15 awards and recognitions for outstanding teaching.

In addition, he has supported the AAF in countless ways, including serving on the board of directors, supporting the National Advertising Student Competition with multiple national wins, as well as acting as coordinator for the Vance & Bettye Lee Stickell Student Internship Program.

The Founders of Stone Ward, Little Rock. Larry Stone and Millie Ward are not only life partners, they are the co-founders of Stone Ward, a full-service advertising agency with offices in Little Rock and Chicago. They are the center of Stone Ward’s ethos of intelligent thinking, committed service and creative drive. Stone Ward is widely recognized in the South and Midwest for its innovation and creativity.

Under their leadership, the agency follows a “Building Good” philosophy in which Stone Ward not only gives back to the communities it serves, but also commits itself to realizing the potential of it’s people, clients and the ideas that evolve their brands.

Jim Moroney, Dallas. James M. Moroney III is the chairman, president and Chief Executive Officer of A. H. Belo Corporation. He has served as executive vice president of A. H. Belo since November 2007. He continues to serve as publisher and Chief Executive Officer of The Dallas Morning News, a position he has held since June 2001.

Moroney began his career with Belo as a sales trainee and through the years has worked his way to the company’s top position. He has been a local sales manager, general sales manager, Belo’s controller, vice president of the Broadcast Division, president of the Television Group, executive vice president and president.

Roger Rienstra, Fort Worth. (Deceased) A gifted writer and communicator Roger Rienstra helped Witherspoon & Associates grow to become the largest agency in Fort Worth during his time as Chief Executive Officer. He routinely solved problems and realized opportunities by developing creative, adaptable strategies for clients that succeeded by way of inspired tactics. Rienstra showed that local agencies in the Southwest could handle national accounts. He was beloved by his employees.

During his career. Riestra supported a long list of organizations, community activities, as well as social and church-related causes.  He believed in giving back to his community.

Ann Iverson, Houston.  Ann Iverson began her career in London as an assistant account executive.  Upon returning to the United States, she joined BBDO Worldwide in New York, was recruited by Ogilvy as an account executive and rose to become a Senior Vice President, Worldwide Account Director. She returned to BBDO as Executive Vice President, Managing Director of their Houston office.

Iverson has been an adjunct professor teaching marketing communications for Rice University the past decade and in 2002, established her own marketing consulting firm in Houston. She continues to counsel clients, does extensive volunteer work and mentors young people in the advertising business.

Rick De Julio, McAllen. (Deceased) Rick De Julio began his advertising career in the late 1960’s in radio and TV. In the 70’s he co-founded a full-service ad agency and in the 80’s, his own creative agency. De Julio was the founding member and driving force of the Valley Advertising Federation. He would go on to become Governor the 10th District and later, Chairman of the AAF National Council of Governors.

De Julio was the founding president of the McAllen Heritage Center, whose mission was to preserve the heritage of the city. He had a passion and enthusiasm for the advertising industry, the AAF, his community and his life.  He was an inspiration to those who knew him and were fortunate enough to work with him.

About the Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame

The Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame was created by the Tenth District of the American Advertising Federation to honor men and women from the region who have distinguished themselves. Inductees need not be a member of the AAF Tenth District. Inductees will automatically be nominated for the National Advertising Hall of Fame as they become eligible.

“We look forward to our annual induction ceremony in Fort Worth this year. With eleven distinguished honorees, our largest group of inductees ever, the Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame is continuing to grow a roster of men and women who have made a significant impact on the advertising industry and their communities,” said Randy Kemp, co-chair, Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame.

About the Tenth District of the American Advertising Federation

The Tenth District of the American Advertising Federation represents the affiliate advertising clubs and federations AAF) in Arkansas, Western Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas. The AAF is the only national grassroots trade association to encompass all segments of the advertising industry, including advertisers, agencies, corporate marketing departments, broadcast and print media companies, industry suppliers, college chapters and national trade associations engaged in various advertising pursuits.